Global Perspectives | Roundtable | 1. October 2019

Africa Goes Urban

How to Support a Sustainable Transition?




Achieving a more sustainable and inclusive world depends on Africa succeeding in the 21st century.

The steady growth of our world population and the increase in migration has accelerated the emergence of mega cities. With its urban population more than doubling to 360 million last year, the African continent accounts for the fastest growing rate of urbanisation in the world. This boom is both promising and troubling.

The inputs of our keynote speakers Edlam Yemeru (UNECA, Addis Ababa) and Edgar Pieterse (African Centre for Cities, Cape Town) will address the role of sustainable urban transition in this larger context.

Urban development is a significant indicator for economic growth, with 80% of the global GDP being generated in cities. At the same time, cities account for more than 70% of energy consumption and carbon emissions. Moreover, the provision of housing, social services, and jobs represents a major challenge: 38% of Africa’s urban population is currently living in slums, which surpasses any other point reached during the last 20 years.

In a private environment we seek to discuss how German partners can be more strategic and better aligned in advancing sustainable urbanisation policies towards the attainment of both the SDGs and Agenda 2063, while appreciating the necessary investment approaches that will work in an African context but require external support.

Speakers:

  • Prof. Edgar Pieterse, Director African Centre for Cities
  • Dr Edlam Yemeru, Chief Urbanisation Section Social Development Policy Division UNECA

Moderation:

  • Dr. Ingrid Hamm, Co-Founder and CEO Global Perspectives Initiative
  • Elisabeth Mansfeld, Director of the City Department Alfred Herrhausen Gesellschaft

More Events on This Topic:

Event Location:
Quartier Zukunft
Quartier Zukunft
Friedrichstraße 181
10117 Berlin

Partner:

Alfred Herrhausen Gesellschaft 

Downloads:

Event Follow-Up

Contact Person:
Theresa Hübscher, Project Management
t.huebscher@globalperspectives.org


Save as PDF

More Events on This Topic:

Global Perspectives | Roundtable | 1. Oktober 2019

Africa Goes Urban

How to Support a Sustainable Transition?

Das Erreichen einer nachhaltigeren und integrativeren Welt hängt davon ab, dass Afrika im 21. Jahrhundert erfolgreich ist.

Das stetige Wachstum unserer Weltbevölkerung und die Zunahme der Migration haben das Entstehen von Megastädten beschleunigt. Mit einer städtischen Bevölkerung, die sich im vergangenen Jahr auf 360 Millionen mehr als verdoppelt hat, weist der afrikanische Kontinent die am schnellsten wachsende Urbanisierungsrate der Welt auf. Dieser Boom ist vielversprechend und beunruhigend zugleich.

Die Beiträge unserer Hauptredner Edlam Yemeru (UNECA, Addis Abeba) und Edgar Pieterse (African Centre for Cities, Kapstadt) befassten sich mit der Rolle einer nachhaltigen strukturellen Transformation in diesem größeren Kontext.

Die Stadtentwicklung ist ein wichtiger Indikator für das Wirtschaftswachstum, da 80 % des globalen BIP in Städten erwirtschaftet werden. Gleichzeitig tragen Städte zu mehr als 70% des Energieverbrauchs und der CO2-Emissionen bei. Darüber hinaus stellt die Bereitstellung von Wohnungen, Sozialdiensten und Arbeitsplätzen eine große Herausforderung dar: 38% der afrikanischen Stadtbevölkerung leben derzeit in Slums, was jegliche Dimension der letzten 20 Jahre übersteigt.

In einem privaten Umfeld diskutierten wir, wie sich deutsche Partner besser und strategischer ausrichten können, um eine nachhaltige Urbanisierungspolitik zur Erreichung der SDGs und der Agenda 2063 voranzutreiben. Gleichzeitig beleuchteten wird die notwendigen Investitionsansätze, die in einem afrikanischen Kontext funktionieren, aber externe Unterstützung erfordern.

Redner:

  • Prof. Edgar Pieterse, Leiter African Center for Cities
  • Dr. Edlam Yemeru, Leiterin der Sektion Urbanisierung Abteilung soziale Entwicklungspolitik UNECA

Moderation:

  • Dr. Ingrid Hamm, Mitgründerin und Vorsitzende Global Perspectives Initiative
  • Elisabeth Mansfeld, Leiterin des Arbeitsfeldes Stadt Alfred Herrhausen Gesellschaft

Weitere Veranstaltungen zu diesem Thema:

Veranstaltungsort:
Quartier Zukunft
Quartier Zukunft
Friedrichstraße 181
10117 Berlin

Partner:

Alfred Herrhausen Gesellschaft 

Downloads:

Follow-Up zur Veranstaltung

Ansprechperson:
Theresa Hübscher, Projektmanagement
t.huebscher@globalperspectives.org


Als PDF speichern

Weitere Veranstaltungen zu diesem Thema: