Global Perspectives | Roundtable | 17. May 2018

Aurora Humanitarian Index 2018

Commented by Dr. Steffen Angenendt, Prof. Petra Bendel and Dr. Cornelia Schu




“In today’s complex world, we need to build trust – in particular when it comes to facts and figures. The Aurora Humanitarian Index 2018 and the Aurora Prize both contribute to more“ – Dr. Steffen Angenendt.

Findings reveal, populations around the globe have greater fear that there could be new wars. This nurtures uncertainty, while, indeed, there is an objective increase in regional, national and global crises. 61% responded that with the number and individual severity of humanitarian crises, they cannot ‚keep track‘. Edelmann Intelligence surveyed 11.000 respondents from 12 countries for the Aurora Humanitarian Initiative. Most striking is the discrepancy between countries, respondents assumed to host most refugees, and  countries that actually do. The general perception is that the refugee crisis affects industrialized European countries (foremost Germany) most. But Turkey, Pakistan, and Lebanon host the highest number of refugees worldwide.

This barometer of public opinion on the refugee crisis in host countries serves as foundation for discussions with experts and journalists.

Dr. Steffen Angenendt (German Institute for International and Security Affaires), Prof. Dr. Petra Bendel and Dr. Cornelia Schu (The Expert Council of German Foundations on Integration and Migration), concluded that international debate on migration is, after all, illegitimately focused on the Global North. The refugee crisis is factually concentrated in the Global South, for which part of the world there is little (reliable) available data. The Global South is also where we find the crisis’ roots, wherefore flight prevention initiatives must be implemented here. With little available data, policies are based on hypotheses rather than factuality. This is a gap, Aurora Humanitarian Initiative intends to close. Participating experts demanded for the survey to be conducted objectively and toned-down, and for the questions to be posed and analyzed in a differentiated manner.

The Aurora Humanitarian Index 2018, its survey and more information on the topic can be found here.

Speakers:

  • Dr Steffen Angenendt, Research Team Leader Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik
  • Prof. Petra Bendel, CEO Zentralinstitut für Regionenforschung Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nuremberg
  • Dr Cornelia Schu, CEO The Expert Council of German Foundations on Integration and Migration

Moderation:

  • Dr Ingrid Hamm, Co-Founder and CEO Global Perspectives Initiative

More Events on This Topic:

Event Location:
Projektzentrum Stiftung Mercator
Projektzentrum Stiftung Mercator
Neue Promenade 6, 10178 Berlin

Partner:

Aurora Humanitarian Initiative 

More Information:
Aurora Humanitarian Index 2018

Contact Person:
Theresa Hübscher, Project Management
t.huebscher@globalperspectives.org


Save as PDF

More Events on This Topic:

Global Perspectives | Roundtable | 17. Mai 2018

Aurora Humanitarian Index 2018

Kommentiert durch Dr. Steffen Angenendt, Prof. Dr. Petra Bendel und Dr. Cornelia Schu

“In Zeiten einer neuen internationalen Unübersichtlichkeit ist es wichtig, Vertrauen über Daten und Fakten zu schaffen – der Aurora Humanitarian Index 2018 Aurora Prize trägt dazu bei.”
Dr. Steffen Angenendt – Leiter Forschungsgruppe Globale Fragen der Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik (SWP)

In Berlin wurde der Aurora Humanitarian Index 2018 vorgestellt.

Die Ergebnisse verzeichnen eine deutlich gestiegene Angst vor Krieg in vielen Ländern rund um den Globus. In dieser von Ungewissheit geprägten Situation erleben viele Menschen eine für sie schwer erfassbare Krisenhäufung. 61 % der Befragten gaben an, dass es ihnen bei einer so hohen Anzahl humanitärer Krisen unmöglich erscheint, mit deren Bewältigung Schritt halten zu können. Die Ergebnisse der jährlich von Edelman Intelligence im Auftrag der Aurora Humanitarian Initiative durchgeführten Meinungsumfrage mit fast 11.000 Teilnehmern aus 12 Ländern zeigen auch, dass die Menschen nach wie vor mit ihrer Einschätzung falsch liegen, welche Länder am meisten von den Flüchtlingsströmen betroffen sind, und davon überzeugt sind, dass die europäischen Industrieländer die meisten Flüchtlinge aufnehmen, während es tatsächlich die Türkei, Pakistan und der Libanon sind.
Diese als Barometer fungierende Studie untersucht die Haltung von Menschen zum Thema Flucht und Migration in aufnehmenden Ländern. Wir nahmen diese neuen Ergebnisse zum Anlass, um mit ExpertInnen und JournalistInnen zu diesem Thema zu diskutieren.

Zentrales Ergebnis der Diskussion mit Dr. Steffen Angenendt von der Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik, Prof. Dr. Petra Bendel and Dr. Cornelia Schu von Sachverständigenrat Deutscher Stiftungen für Migration und Integration war, dass der Fokus der internationalen Debatte um Migration immer noch auf den globalen Norden gerichtet ist. Die Hauptaufnahmeländer sind aber im globalen Süden verortet und die internationale Datenlage für diese Regionen mangelhaft. Was umso bedauerlicher ist, als Initiativen zur Fluchtprävention genau da ansetzen müssten. Zudem unterstützt die Konzentration auf die Befindlichkeit in den Industrieländern eine öffentliche Debatte, die eine tendenzielle Bedrohung suggeriert. Eine weitere zentrale Forderung der Experten war deshalb, differenziert zu fragen und zu analysieren. Die so gewonnenen Daten sollten unaufgeregt und sachlich in die politischen Kommunikation eingebracht werden.

Den Report zum Aurora Humanitarian Index, die Studie sowie weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.
Zur Vorstellung des Aurora Humanitarian Index 2018 in London.
Zur Vorstellung des Aurora Humanitarian Index 2018 in Berlin.

Redner:

  • Dr. Steffen Angenendt, Forschungsgruppenleiter Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik
  • Prof. Dr. Petra Bendel, Geschäftsführerin Zentralinstitut für Regionenforschung Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg
  • Dr. Cornelia Schu, Geschäftsführerin Sachverständigenrat deutscher Stiftungen für Integration und Migration

Moderation:

  • Dr. Ingrid Hamm, Mitgründerin Global Perspectives Initiative

Weitere Veranstaltungen zu diesem Thema:

Veranstaltungsort:
Projektzentrum Stiftung Mercator
Projektzentrum Stiftung Mercator
Neue Promenade 6, 10178 Berlin

Partner:

Aurora Humanitarian Initiative 

Weitere Informationen:
Aurora Humanitarian Index 2018

Ansprechpartner:
Daniel Greve, Projektmanagement
d.greve@globalperspectives.org

Weitere Veranstaltungen zu diesem Thema: