Global Perspectives | Salon | 25. October 2018

Dance of the Lions and Dragons

Investigating China's role in Africa and approaching new impulses for Germany's cooperation with African Countries




In just a decade, China has become Africa’s largest economic partner. No other country engages in such depth and scope in the areas of trade, investment, financing of infrastructure and aid. Chinese companies of all sizes, from small shops to Billion-Euro railway projects to improve infrastructure, bring capital investment, management knowledge, and entrepreneurial energy.
At the China-Africa summit in early September in Beijing, China announced the further investment of $60 billion over the next three years, the money is welcome for Africa’s economic growth, but on the other hand, could lead to an increase in debt and a corresponding trade deficit.

McKinsey’s Irene Yuan Sun and her colleagues provide a detailed, fact-based account of the economic relationship between China and Africa with their study “Dance of the Lions and Dragons – How are Africa and China engaging, and how will the partnership evolve”. In doing so, they help public and private sector leaders make informed decisions to strengthen cooperation with Africa, attract investment and use these investments for economic success and sustainable economic development.

Speakers:

  • Prof. Andreas Fuchs, Professor of Environmental, Climate and Development Economics Kiel Institute for World Economy
  • Andreas Sieren, Author and Expert on Africa
  • Irene Yuan Sun, Associate Partner McKinsey & Company

Moderation:

  • Dr. Ingrid Hamm, Co-Founder Global Perspectives Initiative

More Events on This Topic:

Event Location:
Haus der Deutschen Wirtschaft
Haus der Deutschen Wirtschaft
Breite Str. 29, 10178 Berlin

Downloads:

Event follow-up

Contact Person:
Max Münz, Project Management
m.muenz@globalperspectives.org

Judith Ramadan, Project Management
j.ramadan@globalperspectives.org


Save as PDF

More Events on This Topic:

Global Perspectives | Salon | 25. Oktober 2018

Dance of the Lions and Dragons

Investigating China's role in Africa and approaching new impulses for Germany's cooperation with African Countries




In lediglich einem Jahrzehnt ist China zum größten ökonomischen Partner Afrikas geworden. Kein anderes Land engagiert sich in derartiger Tiefe und Umfang in den Bereichen Handel, Investitionen, Finanzierung von Infrastruktur und Hilfsleistungen. Chinesische Firmen aller Größen, vom kleinen Asia-Laden bis zu Milliarden Euro-Projekten zum Ausbau von Gleisinfrastruktur, bringen Kapitalinvestment, Management Know-How und unternehmerische Energie.
Beim großen China-Afrika-Gipfel Anfang September in Peking kündigte China weitere Investitionen in Höhe von 60 Mrd. Dollar für die nächsten drei Jahre an, Gelder die einerseits für das wirtschaftliche Wachstum Afrikas begrüßt werden, andererseits zu einer Erhöhung der Schulden und einem entsprechenden Handelsdefizit führen können.

Mit der Studie „Dance of the Lions and Dragons – How are Africa and China engaging, and how will the partnership evolve“ schaffen Irene Yuan Sun und ihre Kollegen von McKinsey erstmals einen ausführlichen, faktenbasierten Bericht über die ökonomische Beziehung zwischen Afrika und China. Somit verhelfen sie Führungskräften des öffentlichen und privaten Sektors zu fundierten Entscheidungen, um die Zusammenarbeit mit Afrika zu stärken, Investitionen anzuziehen und diese Investitionen für wirtschaftlichen Erfolg und eine nachhaltige wirtschaftliche Entwicklung zu nutzen.

Redner:

  • Prof. Andreas Fuchs, Professor für Umwelt-, Klima- und Entwicklungsökonomie Kiel Institut für Weltwirtschaft
  • Andreas Sieren, Autor
  • Irene Yuan Sun, Associate Partner McKinsey & Company

Moderation:

  • Dr. Ingrid Hamm, Mitgründerin Global Perspectives Initiative

Weitere Veranstaltungen zu diesem Thema:

Veranstaltungsort:
Haus der Deutschen Wirtschaft
Haus der Deutschen Wirtschaft
Breite Straße 29, 10178 Berlin

Ansprechpartner:
Max Münz, Projektmanagement
m.muenz@globalperspectives.org

Judith Ramadan, Projektmanagement
j.ramadan@globalperspectives.org


Als PDF speichern

Weitere Veranstaltungen zu diesem Thema: