Aurora Humanitarian Initiative | Salon | 22. September 2020

The Power of Humanity

How war and genocide can be prevented

With Mirza Dinnayi and Prof. Dr Wolfgang Huber

Humanity is never more important than in a pandemic and never is it more sorely missed. This is the topic of this year’s Aurora Dialogues, which the Global Perspectives Initiative is hosting together with the Aurora Humanitarian Initiative, the ESMT and Stiftung Garnisonkirche Potsdam.

More than 70 million people worldwide are currently fleeing persecution and conflict, and the number is increasing daily. In addition, the corona pandemic is making the already precarious living situation of displaced people even more difficult.

In October 2019 Mirza Dinnayi (Co-Founder and CEO of the Iraq Airbridge) was awarded the Aurora Prize for Awakening Humanity.

Driven by his determination to save lives, the Yazidi activist has found a way to help the most vulnerable members of the Yazidi community during numerous conflicts in Syria and Iraq: He has aided hundreds of Yazidis such as the later Nobel Peace Prize winner Nadia Murad to their rescue and has provided countless refugee camps with life-saving relief supplies.

We will talk to him and Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Huber about the urgent need for humanity and solidarity and its potential to successfully overcome the great challenges of today’s world. The former Council President of the Evangelical Church in Germany has been dealing with the causes of genocide for decades and is intensively investigating why religion is repeatedly misused to legitimize persecution and genocide.

Using the example of the Yazidi in the Middle East conflict, our two speakers Mirza Dinnayi and Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Huber will speak on the topic “The Power of Humanity: How to Prevent War and Genocide”. The discussion will be moderated by Georg Garlichs, CEO of ESMT Berlin.

Speakers:

  • Mirza Dinnayi, Co-Founder and Director of Luftbrücke Irak (Air Bridge Iraq)
  • Prof. Wolfgang Huber, former Head of EKD Evangelical Church in Germany

Moderation:

  • Georg Garlichs, CEO at ESMT Berlin

More Events on This Topic:

Event Location:
online
online
via Zoom

Partner:

Aurora Humanitarian Initiative 

ESMT Berlin 

Stiftung Garnisonkirche Potsdam 

Contact Person:
Theresa Hübscher, Project Management
t.huebscher@globalperspectives.org


Save as PDF

More Events on This Topic:

Aurora Humanitarian Initiative | Salon | 22. September 2020

The Power of Humanity – Die Kraft der Menschlichkeit

Wie Krieg und Völkermord verhindert werden können

Mit Mirza Dinnayi und Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Huber

Nie ist Menschlichkeit wichtiger als in einer Pandemie und nie wird sie schmerzlicher vermisst. Darum geht es in unserer diesjährigen Aurora Dialogues, die wir gemeinsam mit der Aurora Humanitarian Initiative, der ESMT und der Stiftung Garnisonkirche Potsdam veranstalten.

Über 70 Millionen Menschen sind weltweit auf der Flucht vor Verfolgung und Konflikten, und die Zahl steigt täglich. Hinzu kommt, dass die Corona-Pandemie die ohnehin prekäre Lebenssituation vertriebener Menschen zusätzlich erschwert.

Im Oktober 2019 wurde Mirza Dinnayi (Mitbegründer und Geschäftsführer der Luftbrücke Irak) mit dem Aurora Prize for Awakening Humanity ausgezeichnet.

Angetrieben von seiner Entschlossenheit, Leben zu retten, hat der jesidische Aktivist während zahlreicher Konflikte in Syrien und im Irak einen Weg gefunden, den am meisten verwundbaren Mitgliedern der jesidischen Gemeinschaft zu helfen: Er hat Hunderten von Jesid*innen wie auch der späteren Friedensnobelpreisträgerin Nadia Murad zur Rettung verholfen und unzählige Flüchtlingslager mit lebensrettenden Hilfsgütern versorgt.

Über die dringende Notwendigkeit der Humanität und Solidarität sowie ihr Potenzial, die großen Herausforderungen unserer heutigen Welt erfolgreich zu bewältigen, sprechen wir mit ihm sowie Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Huber. Der ehemalige Ratsvorsitzende der Evangelischen Kirche in Deutschland befasst sich seit Jahrzehnten mit den Ursachen für Genozide und geht intensiv der Frage nach, warum Religion immer wieder zur Legitimation von Verfolgung und Völkermord missbraucht wird.

Am Beispiel der Jesid*innen im Nahostkonflikt werden unsere beiden Referenten Mirza Dinnayi und Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Huber zum Thema „The Power of Humanity – Die Kraft der Menschlichkeit“ sprechen. Die Moderation übernimmt Georg Garlichs, Geschäftsführer der ESMT Berlin.

Sprecher*innen:

  • Mirza Dinnayi, Mitgründer und Geschäftsführer Luftbrücke Irak
  • Prof. Wolfgang Huber, ehemaliger Ratsvorsitzender EKD Evangelische Kirche Deutschland

Moderator*innen:

  • Georg Garlichs, Geschäftsführer der ESMT Berlin

Weitere Veranstaltungen zu diesem Thema:

Veranstaltungsort:
online
online
via Zoom

Partner:

Aurora Humanitarian Initiative 

ESMT Berlin 

Stiftung Garnisonkirche Potsdam 

Ansprechperson:
Theresa Hübscher, Project Management
t.huebscher@globalperspectives.org


Als PDF speichern

Weitere Veranstaltungen zu diesem Thema: